Hansal Mehta ‘disappointed’ over ‘Aligarh’ hasn’t won any National Film Awards



The result of 64th National Film Awards is out. Akshay Kumar has bagged the best actor award for ‘Rustom’ and Sonam Kapoor’s ‘Neerja’ has won the best film award.

Manoj Bajpayee‘s Aligarh, that garnered critical acclaim and huge appreciation from the audience, didn’t receive any recognition, leave alone an award. Film’s director  Hansal Mehta get disappointed with this.

Hansal Mehta for film Aligarh

Mehta, who won the National Film Award for “Shahid,” took to twitter to o express his disappointment. He wrote”

“Am getting calls asking me if Aligarh was entered for the National Awards and if I was disappointed with the results. Yes, Aligarh was entered and while we are disappointed like many other colleagues I would like to congratulate all the winners. The jury has a difficult job every year and there are bound to be disappointments for many, a few debatable awards and much hurt over being overlooked. At the same time some fine films have been rewarded and some excellent work has been recognized. To all my colleagues who poured their hearts out into Aligarh, lets just keep making our films with love and care – awards or no awards. There is no point brooding over the results. There is merit in only moving on and continuing to work, to make movies that we believe in. Manoj, Apu, Raj, Satya, Neil, Mandar and the entire team, you are all champions.”

[ecp code=”4″]

Hansal feels that the purpose of the film is solved if the queer community gets their rights. He added,  “My only hope is that the debate over Section 377 and LGBTQ rights is not ignored. If Aligarh has shone a light on these issues and if India’s ignored LGBTQ population are able to move forward with dignity, rights and unconditional integration into the mainstream we will consider our task in making Aligarh accomplished.”

Bajpayee’s performance in the film, based on the life of an AMU professor who was sacked on charges of homosexuality, received a lot appreciation and he was considered to be frontunner for the best National Award, which eventually went to Akshay Kumar for his performance in “Rustom”.