Anupam Kher appointed as the new chairperson of the FTII, replaces Gajendra Chauhan


Bollywood actor Anupam Kher has been appointed the new chairman of Pune-based Film and Television Institute of India (FTII). The announcement came on Wednesday afternoon. Kher replaces Gajendra Chauhan as the FTII chairman whose tenure ended in March this year.

Chauhan was appointed as FTII chairman on June 9, 2015. Many FTII students had protested against his appointment, claiming that Chauhan was unfit for the job.

The FTII, a prestigious body, was in the past headed by legendary film personalities including Shyam Benegal, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Saeed Mirza, Mahesh Bhatt, Mrinal Sen, Vinod Khanna and Girish Karnad.

Many popular film personalities have come out of FTII, including Naseeruddin Shah, Jaya Bachchan, Shabana Azmi, Shatrughan Sinha, Raza Murad, Resul Pookutty and the late Smita Patil and Om Puri.

Kher is a vocal supporter of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He is also the chairman of an acting institute, Anupam Kher’s Actor Prepares.

On the work front, Anupam Kher is currently gearing up for the release of his upcoming film, Ranchi Diaries.