Meet top 12 Indian actors who entered in politics!

 Bollywood and politics are two worlds where if you are able to carry yourself well you are able to stand among the masses. There are celebrities who chose to leave the glamorous world behind and join something that occupies the same amount of drama and excitement – ‘Politics’. These actors-turned-politicians. There are several stars who left Bollywood to join politics. Checkout bollywood actors who turned politicians.

1. Rajinikanth

On New Year’s Eve, superstar Rajinikanth finally confirmed his entry in politics. The actor said that he will join active politics with a new party. The news was well received by his fans, who began celebrations soon after the announcement was made.

2. Hema Malini

Bollywood actress Hema Malini who is considered as a ‘Dream Girl’ of bollywood. She made her entry into politics after she did an election campaign for actor Vinod Khanna in Lok Sabha Elections of 1999. The BJP led NDA govt nominated her to Rajya Sabha in 2003 and in 2004 she formally joined the BJP. She has been an active and prominent member of the party and has campaigned rigorously for the party in various elections. She was once again elected to Rajya Sabha on a BJP ticket from Karnataka in 2011. Hema defeated the Mathura incumbent, Jayant Chaudhary (RLD) in 2014 general elections by 3,30,743 votes.

3. Rajesh Khanna

 The 1970s superstar Rajesh Khanna was a member of Parliament from the Congress party from the New Delhi constituency. He won elections in 1992 and retained his seat till 1996, after which he quit politics.

4. Jayalalithaa

South-Indian superstar, Jayalalithaa joins politics and then there was no looking back for her. She served six terms as chief minister of the state between 1991 and 2016. She was considered as one of the most powerful female politicians of India.

5. Shatrughan Sinha

Actor Shatrughan Sinha left bollywood to enter in the world politics. He entered politics by defeating actor Shekhar Suman in Bihar’s Patna Sahib constituency. Since then he has been the cabinet minister for the department of Health and Family. He has been with the BJP party since he moved into politics.

6. Raj Babbar

Bollywood actor Raj Babbar entered in politics in 1989 by joining Janata Dal. He later joined Samajwadi Party and was elected as MP thrice. From 1994 to 1999 he was a member of Rajya Sabha. He was re-elected in the 14th Lok Sabha elections for the second term in 2004. Raj Babbar joined Indian National Congress in 2008 and became the MP for the fourth time after defeating Dimple Yadav. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, he contested from Ghaziabad and lost to General V K Singh.

[ecp code=”4″]

7. Smriti Irani

Long after she made television history with Ekta Kapoor’s soap opera Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi, Irani was elected as member of Parliament from the state of Gujarat. She is currently the Union minister of information and broadcasting and textiles.

8. Vinod Khanna

In 1997, Vinod Khanna joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and was elected from Gurdaspur constituency in Punjab in the next year’s Lok Sabha poll. In 1999, he was re-elected to the Lok Sabha from the same constituency. Later, he became union minister for culture and tourism in July 2002. Six months later, he was moved to the ministry of external affairs (MEA) as Minister of State. In 2004 he won re-election from Gurdaspur. However, Khanna lost out in the 2009 general elections. In the 2014 general election he was again elected for the 16th Lok sabha from the same constituency.

9Kirron Kher

Kiron Kher joined the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2009 and campaigned for the party from across the country during the elections, including in Chandigarh for the 2011 municipal corporation elections. BJP declared her as the Lok Sabha candidate from Chandigarh for General Elections, 2014. In May 2014, she won the seat with 1,91,362 votes, defeating sitting MP, Congress leader Pawan Bansal.

10. Amitabh Bachchan

In 1984, Bachchan took a break from acting to contest the Lok Sabha elections from Allahabad which he won. However, following allegations in the Bofors scandal, he resigned and vowed to never enter politics again.

11. Jaya Prada

Former Bollywood actress Jaya Prada bid good bye to Bollywood and made her foray into politics. She started her political career with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 1994 but soon left the party following differences with party supremo N. Chandrababu Naidu. She then joined the Samajwadi Party and contested from Rampur Parliamentary Constituency in UP during the 2004 General election and got elected. She was re-elected in 2009.

12. Jaya Bachchan

Jaya Bachchan spent a good amount of time with the Samajwadi Party and then made her way to Rajya Sabha. She represented Samajwadi Party in the Rajya Sabha and was re-elected in the year 2012.

About Jyoti Nagdev

Check Also

Sri Adhikari Brothers Associate with Multi-starrer THANK GOD, Post Success of Web Series Karm Yuddh

Sri Adhikari Brothers associate with T-Series and Maruti International for multi starrer film “THANK GOD”, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *